City Elections

About Council & Mayoral Elections

The Coralville City Council is made up of five Council members who serve overlapping four-year terms. The Mayor, who is not a member of the Council, is elected for a two-year term. These non-partisan, at-large positions are elected by Coralville citizens.  

Learn more: City Council and Mayor.

On this page:

2021 City Election
The 2021 City Election is November 2, 2021. The office of Mayor and three City Council positions will be on the ballot. Terms begin January 1, 2022.

The Johnson County Auditor’s Office handles candidate filing and elections (see "Candidate & Voter Resources" and "Running for Office" below). Polls will be open from 7:00 am until 8:00 pm on November 2.

Mayor (one to be elected; two-year term)

  • Meghann Foster

City Council (three to be elected; four year terms)

  • Laurie Goodrich
  • Hai Huynh
  • Mike Knudson
  • Cindy Riley
Source: Johnson County Auditor's website as of 5:00 pm on September 16, 2021. View candidate list

Contact Us

  1. Thorsten J. Johnson
    City Clerk

    1512 7th St.
    P.O. Box 5127
    Coralville, IA  52241

    Ph: 319.248.1700
    Fx: 319.248.1894

    Monday - Friday
    7:30 am - 5:00 pm

    Staff Directory

Candidate Videos

Each candidate on the ballot for the November 2, 2021 City Election was invited to record a candidate video statement. Videos appear in alphabetical order.

City of Coralville Mayor Election

Meghann Foster

City Council Election

Laurie Goodrich

Hai Huynh

Mike Knudson

Cindy Riley

Candidate Forum

Watch the candidate forum held October 4, 2021

Hosted by the League of Women Voters of Johnson County

  1. Candidate & Voter Resources
  2. Running for Office

Candidate & Voter Resources

Ways to Vote in the City Election

Elections are managed by the Johnson County Auditor’s Office. 

Early Voting
  • In person: In person early voting begins on October 13, 2021, at the Auditor's Office, 913 S. Dubuque St. Suite 101, Iowa City.
  • Absentee by mail: voters may vote absentee by mail.
    • October 13, 2021: Absentee ballots will be mailed out.
    • October 18, 2021: Deadline for requests for mailed absentee ballots to be received in the Johnson County Auditor's Office.
    • Mailed absentee ballots may be returned to Auditor's Office until 8:00 pm on November 2, 2021. A drop box will be located on the south side of the Johnson County Administration Building, 913 S. Dubuque St., Iowa City.
Election Day Voting
  • November 2, 2021: Election day. Polls open 7:00 am-8:00 pm
  • Voters may only vote in their designated voting location on Election Day. Find your voting location
  • All seven regular Coralville precincts will be open.
(Information from the Johnson County Auditor as of April 9, 2021. See the Johnson County Auditor website for updated information.)

Learn More

For voter registration deadlines, early voting information, and polling places:
Questions regarding the election may be directed to the Johnson County Auditor’s Office at 319.356.6004 or City Clerk Thor Johnson at 319.248.1700.